01 FOR_SAMA_Waad_filming_headshot.JPG
 

FOR SAMA was awarded the Prix L’Œil d’Or for Best Documentary at the 2019 Cannes Film Festival. It also won the Grand Jury Award for Best Documentary at the SXSW Film Festival, and the Special Jury Prize for International Feature Documentary at the Hot Docs Festival.

 

For Sama

 

FOR SAMA is both an intimate and epic journey into the female experience of war. A love letter from a young mother to her daughter, the film tells the story of Waad al-Kateab’s life through five years of the uprising in Aleppo, Syria as she falls in love, gets married and gives birth to Sama, all while cataclysmic conflict rises around her. 

Her camera captures incredible stories of loss, laughter and survival as Waad wrestles with an impossible choice– whether or not to flee the city to protect her daughter’s life, when leaving means abandoning the struggle for freedom for which she has already sacrificed so much.

The film is the first feature documentary by Emmy award-winning filmmakers, Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts.

FOR SAMA - PRODUCED BY CHANNEL 4 NEWS/ITN PRODUCTIONS FOR CHANNEL 4 AND FRONTLINE PBS.

cinema listings

Opening in these theatres from Friday 13th September 2019:

Screenings + Q&A

 Reviews

Awards Won

 
 

CONTACT

UK Press Inquiries :

Christelle Randall
Way to Blue
christelle.randall@waytoblue.com
+ 44 203 758 8631

 Amber Muotto
Way to Blue
amber.muotto@waytoblue.com
+ 44 203 758 8630
_

International Press Inquiries:

Hayley Barlow
Channel 4 News / ITN
hayley.barlow@itn.co.uk
+447766367110

US / New York Publicity:

 Susan Norget Film Promotion
susan@norget.com
+917 833 3056

US / Los Angeles Publicity:

David Magdael & Associates
David Magdael
dmagdael@tcdm-associates.com
+ 213 399 1434

 US Distribution and Screening Inquiries:

Sara Giustini
PBS Distribution
theatrical@pbs.org

 International Sales:

Salma Abdalla 
Autlook Film sales
+43 676 900 3771
salma@autlookfilms.com
Festivals: Stephanie Fuchs stephanie@autlookfilms.com