01 FOR_SAMA_Waad_filming_headshot.JPG
 
 

For Sama

 

FOR SAMA is both an intimate and epic journey into the female experience of war. A love letter from a young mother to her daughter, the film tells the story of Waad al-Kateab’s life through five years of the uprising in Aleppo, Syria as she falls in love, gets married and gives birth to Sama, all while cataclysmic conflict rises around her. 

Her camera captures incredible stories of loss, laughter and survival as Waad wrestles with an impossible choice– whether or not to flee the city to protect her daughter’s life, when leaving means abandoning the struggle for freedom for which she has already sacrificed so much.

The film is the first feature documentary by Emmy award-winning filmmakers, Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts.

FOR SAMA WAS PRODUCED BY CHANNEL 4 NEWS/ITN PRODUCTIONS FOR CHANNEL 4 AND PBS FRONTLINE.

Screenings

 Reviews

CONTACT

French press inquiries:

Moonfleet PR/Cedric Landemaine
cedric-landemaine@moonfleet.fr
+33662647007

Moonfleet PR/Elodie Avenel
elodie-avenel@moonfleet.fr
+33627413832

 

US / New York / Cannes Publicity press inquiries:

 Susan Norget Film Promotion
susan@norget.com
+917 833 3056

Los Angeles Publicity

David Magdael & Associates
David Magdael
dmagdael@tcdm-associates.com

 US Distribution and Screening Inquiries

Emily Rothschild
PBS Distribution
theatrical@pbs.org

UK press inquiries:

Hayley Barlow
Channel 4 News / ITN
hayley.barlow@itn.co.uk
+447766367110

 International Sales:

Salma Abdalla 
Autlook Film sales
+43 676 900 3771
salma@autlookfilms.com
Festivals: Stephanie Fuchs stephanie@autlookfilms.com